

## International Rafting Federation

## MINUTES - CONGRESS 2009 18 May 2009

1. Opening: Rafael Gallo, the President of the IRF, opened the Congress by welcoming everyone.

Apologies: Tony Hansen, Mark Joffe, Steve Nomchong, Sergei Trofimenko, Jakob Faerch, Colombia, Korea.

Roll call/ establish delegates: Argentina – Sergio Betencourt Australia – Graeme Maifredi Belgium – X Austria – Harald Nussbaummueller Bosnia & Herzegovina – Aleksandar Pastir Brasil – Jean-Claude Razel Bulgaria – Stanimir Stanimov Canada – Eric Boudreau Chile – Joe Willie Jones Colombia - X Croatia – Toni Poljak Costa Rica – Rafa Gallo Czech – Ondrej Panenka – delegate, Robert Kazik Denmark – Lillian Madsen Ecuador – X Finland – Oula-Matt Peltonen Georgia – David Katsarava Germany – Peter Micheler Great Britain – Deb Cook Hungary – Vaskuti Mate, Gaspar Goncz Italy - Danilo Barmaz Indonesia - Amalia Yunita Japan – Shige Asano Kazakhstan – X Korea – X Latvia – X Mexico – X Montenegro – Grgur Dragutin Netherlands - Pieter Bekkers, Dirk Ladiges Nepal – X New Zealand – Nick Chater Norway - Valerie Bertrand Portugal – Sue Liell-Cock (appntd by Joao Martins) Russia – Oleg Grigoriev, Alexei Rumyanisev Serbia - Boris Purjakov Slovakia – Rado Orokocky, Jozef Kytka Slovenia - Janko Tavcar South Africa – Sue Liell-Cock Spain – Josep Foz Aragall Switzerland - Miki Weber Turkey - Kanat Karamursel Ukraine – X USA – Lisa Reeder Venezuela – X Non-voting delegates: Iran – Kianoosh Mehrabi China – Wei Xing, Xia Xuezhen

Establish a quorum – 34 members present out of 44 is a quorum

- New Memberships for acceptance: Nepal, Ukraine, Venezuela, Finland, Latvia. Old members rejoining: Belgium, Colombia – all accepted.
- 3. Rafael Gallo, Sue Liell-Cock, Robert Kazik and Shige Asano gave summaries of their reports. Peter Micheler gave an update on International Relations, specifically re the IC, IDBF, Va.a and AIPSF.

- 4. The financial report and the budget were accepted.
- 5. Election of office bearers:
  - a) Election of BOD Tony Hansen, who was one of the founding members of the IRF and who, through the Camel White Water Challenge, provided the base for the IRF and the WRC to form, has declined to stand again for the BOD due to other work commitments. He will be greatly missed. Sergei Trofimenko who has also been a long contributor to the IRF will also not stand again due to work commitments. Rafa Gallo thanked both of them for their commitment and dedication in assisting the IRF to get where it is today.

There were 11 nominations in total. The following persons were unopposed to return to their previous positions:

- Rafa Gallo President
- Mark Joffe Treasurer
- Sue Liell-Cock Secretary General
- Jakob Faerch Head of International Relations

The following were proposed and accepted to the following positions:

- Peter Micheler 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President
- Robert Kazik 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President
- Gaspar Goncz Head of GT&E
- Ondrej Panenka Head of Sport & Competition
- Shige Asano Recreational Rafting & Conservation

At this stage with two nominations left Oleg Grigoriev put himself forward as wanting to work on and promote the Youth section of rafting. He will therefore be proposed to head this as a new sub-com at the S&C meeting.

- Steve Nomchong was proposed and accepted as Head of Media & Marketing
- 6. Committees
  - a) Sport & Competition Committee will be concluded at the S&C meeting on the 22<sup>nd</sup>
  - b) Guide Training & Education Committee this committee is made up of GT&E Assessors and Instructors and is decided amongst themselves.

C)	International Relations Committee:	
	Jakob Faerch (Denmark) – Head	Peter Micheler (Germany)
	Rafa Gallo (Costa Rica)	Fieke Reijntjes (Netherlands)
	Danilo Barmaz (Italy)	Nick Chater (New Zealand)
	Wei Xing (China)	Alex Pastir (BiH)
	(more welcome)	

- d) Commercial Rafting & Conservation Committee: Shige Asano (Japan) – Head Deb Cook (GBR)
   Kanat Karamursel (Turkey) (more welcome)
   Rafael Gallo (Costa Rica) Kianoosh Mehrabi (Iran)
   Sue Liell-Cock (South Africa)
- e) Media & Marketing Committees: Steve Nomchong (Australia) – Head Sue Liell-Cock (South Africa) Joao Martins (Portugal) (more welcome)
  Steve Nomchong (Australia) – Head Bojan Lazic (Serbia) Nick Chater (NZ)
- f) Continental Committees (no African Committee as only 1 member at this time):

i. Euro Committee - will be discussed and voted on by email after the WRC

ii.	Australasian Committee – 1 representative per country memberShige Asano (Japan) – HeadSteve Nomchong (Australia)Graeme Maifredi (Australia)Wei Xing (China)Amalia Yunita (Indonesia)Kei Xing (China)	
	Maxim Zimin (Kazakhstan) Manesh K. Rai (Nepal)	Changmin Park (Korea) Nick Chater (New Zealand)
iii.	Pan-American Committee – 1 representative per country member Rafa Gallo (Costa Rica) – Head Mark Joffe (USA)	

- iii. Pan-American Committee 1 representative per country member Rafa Gallo (Costa Rica) – Head Sergio Betancourt (Argentina) Jean-Claude Razel (Brasil) Joe Willie Jones (Chile)
   Lizzy Camacho Jiminez (Mexico)
   Mark Joffe (USA) Hugo Pinto (Venezuela) Eric Boudreau (Canada) Cesar Diaz (Colombia)
   Lisa Reeder (USA)
- 7. Discussions and resolutions on the proposals submitted by National Federations and BOD

   a) Fees and funding a slight restructure from the BOD
   b) Fees and funding a slight restructure from the BOD
  - This was discussed and accepted by a majority of 18 voting for it.
  - b) Gratitude of support to IRF Czech Rep Accepted
  - c) GT&E Certification Fees Switzerland This was discussed and a decision to pass it on to the GT&E meeting on the 23<sup>rd</sup> was approved.
  - d) Guide Training & Education Switzerland This was discussed and a decision to pass it on to the GT&E meeting on the 23<sup>rd</sup> was approved.
- 8. Closing of Part 1 of the Congress. Part 2 is the Sport & Competition meeting being held on 22 May 2009 from 15:00 to 18:00.